Add non Arduino I/O points

Hi everybody,

i’m just getting started with openhybrid. I’m wondering if it is possible to create I/O points which have nothing to do with the Yun. Let’s say I’ve installed openhybrid according to the guide http://openhybrid.org/install.html “How to make any Computer in to an AR Server for Web content” and have some objects like lamps which are read/writable via a REST interface. How can I create an I/O point which reads/writes such a value? Obviously you can create HTML interface elements which interact with those objects. But I would like to get “real” I/O points which can be connected to other I/O points with the reality editor.

Thank you
Carsten

The I/O points must be able to send the data to the server on pc ,
say if you have two independent programmable device (the function should be programmable) with WiFi connectivity and individual processors, then if the device is set up as each a hybrid object which can communicate to the server then it should be possible
while using the arduino yun ,it is the hybrid object ( i.e it can be considered as the bread toaster or oven as explained here
http://openhybrid.org/how-to-connect-everything.html )
you can also see the capacitive resistor with augmented resistance graph in the video
REST interface should be able to do it

@valentin this should work right ?

Hi Carsten,
Welcome to the forum!

You can program a special IO point in your hybrid object.
The object server runs with node.js and therefore it is possible to generate I/O points that can communicate with another REST interface.

This part is implemented but highly undocumented at this point.
You might want to look in to the folder “dataPointInterfaces” folder.

At this point only the “default” data point is actively used by the arduino library.
It works like this: Whenever the datapoint gets a new input, the function exports.render is called.